Day 1 – Killing me slowly

On the first day of taking my first long walk, I felt like I might keel over after 10 minutes. All the muscles in my legs and bottom hurt. I even decided to take a second, much slower, walk in the late evening for 20 minutes. This did seem to have some minor effect on my blood sugar, but I was not in range yet. I did feel less stressed out though.

“20090524-104331.jpg” by Lehva is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 

What I saw on my first walk today:

– A delicate grasshopper on the front screen door 
– A stray dog that looked like a fox, except for the colouring and it was wearing a collar
– A butterfly 🦋 flying so high that I didn’t realize that they could fly so high
– Passing a boy on his scooter, he was too shy to make eye contact with me (since adults can seem scary)
– More doves (there’s been one regularly visiting me by standing on the light standard outside my house in the early morning)
– The delicate grasshopper still on the front screen door upon my return (and is still there after I have entered the house)

Note: It turns out that the delicate grasshopper is a praying mantis. My partner Mike just got home and it is still on the screen door.

I thought its tucked in front legs might have reminded me of a praying mantis. Mike says it’s a small one and suggests we offer it a small piece of meat

Leave a comment